A Prayer Against Despair

Photo mine. St. Francis statue in my aunt's garden, 2014.
Photo mine. St. Francis statue in my aunt’s garden, 2014.

written by Vienna Cobb Anderson
posted at beliefnet.com

I have been rejected and despised;
I am hurting and destroyed by the pain.
I am angry with others and with you, O God,
for there is no comfort, none anywhere.
I call your name and you are absent.
I wonder why you let me suffer so.
My cries echo in the universe
and ring in my ears
and I am weary of the taste of my tears.
Hear my plea, O God of love.
Let me not be destroyed
by this agony on the brink of death.
I am like a broken reed,
fragile and crushed.
Hear my plea, O God of love.
Let me not be destroyed.
Amen.

4 thoughts on “A Prayer Against Despair

      1. Yeah. I don’t feel right saying the prayer for myself because I’m that messed up, but I like to say it for other people I care about who I know are going through a hard time 🙂

        Like

      2. I don’t think anyone could be “too messed up” for this prayer. Even if you doubt it will help (doubt is my whole existence, I think), there is, I think, so benefit to at least the thought, the hope. And everyone deserves that.

        Like

Leave a Reply

