On Staying and Leaving by Katey Zeh

I wanted to share this blog post from Feminism and Religion that really connected with me. I identify very strongly with what is said here, though I have personally resisted returning to the church in the last 12-15 years.

“Resist the urge to flee. Commit.

I’ve grown weary of the notion that church decline is due solely to my generation’s fear of commitment and nomadic tendencies. It’s also that we no longer subscribe to the notion that we ought to preserve the institution for the institution’s sake. As I’ve journeyed with my sisters and brothers who have made the decision to leave the church, I have witnessed their arduous struggle to break free. Sometimes leaving is a moment to be both grieved and celebrated at the same time.”

See the full post here: On Staying and Leaving by Katey Zeh

Leave a Reply

