Love-Hate Relationship With Halloween

“Halloween-graveyard” by Johnny Martin ecdl. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons

I have kind of a complicated relationship with Halloween. Don’t get me wrong, I love it. It is one of my favorite days of the year. I love the atmosphere, and the Fall weather (or I would if I didn’t live in Texas now where Fall doesn’t exist), I love the decorations and the costumes and the goofiness and scary movies. I think Halloween should last all month, quite frankly.

Unfortunately, Halloween does not love me. When I was a little kid, I was never invited to Halloween parties. When I was in 6th grade, I tried to have a Halloween party myself, and came down with a really severe case of the flu the night before the party. In 10th grade I tried to have a party and only two people came. I had a couple good Halloweens freshman and sophomore of college because my friends would throw parties and everyone would go and they were a blast. But my Junior year of college I tried to throw a party and only two people came. Then, in October 2010 my grandfather died, and no one in my family was really up to celebrating anything that entire Holiday season.

The last few years I haven’t done anything for Halloween except dress in orange and hand out candy to trick-or-treaters.

This year, I actually put some effort into a costume – a fairly standard witch (black dress, corset, cape, hat) costume, but the first thing I’ve done in ages – but the one party I thought I might be able to go to… can’t go anymore (for complicated reasons I won’t get into here). My mother and I thought about going to the Texas Renaissance Festival on Halloween, but now it is supposed to rain ALL DAY today. It started some time over night, with heavy winds and thunder and flooding streets, and is supposed to continue throughout the day. So, never mind that.

It looks like I’ll be wearing a Halloween costume around my house, waiting for kids in the evening, who might not even show up if the rain is too hard.

I love Halloween. I wish I knew why it hates me.

Leave a Reply

