NaNoWriMo Rebel

nano

Well, I signed up for NaNoWriMo.

I suspect most bloggers know what that is by now, but just in case, here’s the official description:

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to creative writing.
On November 1, participants begin working towards the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 PM on November 30.
Valuing enthusiasm, determination, and a deadline, NaNoWriMo is for anyone who has ever thought about writing a novel.

I’ve done it twice before, once in 2010 when I succeeded in writing a whole first draft of a novel during the month, and once in 2011, when I definitely did not succeed. Since then, of course, I’ve been so busy with my PhD work that I just didn’t have the time. But this year I’ve signed up as a Nano “Rebel” – someone who will work toward writing 50,000 words but not necessarily on a novel. These people work on non-fiction, poetry, short stories, academic work, multiple projects at the same time, revising a previous NaNo novel, etc. I thought that the forward-drive and the community experience of NaNo might be the right kind of motivation I need to get or keep myself working on the various projects I should be working on. So, we’ll give it a shot. I don’t know if I’ll reach 50,000 words in the next month. I somehow doubt it. But ANY word count is better than nothing, so if I get any writing out of it, I’ll call it a win.

Any other NaNo writers (rebel or otherwise) out there?

Leave a Reply

