Goodbye to the Space Man

Today I am heartbroken over the death of David Bowie, like so many others. His music and his presence have been such a huge and important part of my life, especially my high school years. And it’s not just that his music was good or brilliant or influential – which it was – it’s also that his life, outside of his music, was so inspiring. The way he presented himself, the way he controlled his own narrative, the way he lived his life, these things were so important and inspiring to me.

I don’t explain it well, but I think this Medium article  by Sara Benincasa says it best:

I do not believe it is a wild exaggeration to say that there are on this earth today many people who would not be here without David Bowie — either because their parents procreated to his music or because (and this is I believe the more important group) he gave them a reason to stay alive when perhaps they did not want to. He was the patron saint of all my favorite fellow travelers: the freaks, the fags, the dykes, the queers, the weirdos of all stripes, and that most dangerous creature of all: the artist. He was the crown prince(ss) of the unusual. He was so marvelously, spectacularly weird, and he gave so many oddballs, including this one, hope.

You can read the whole thing here: “Thank You, David Bowie, from the Weird Kids.”

Here are a couple of my personal favorite songs by David Bowie, just because I can:

and the last music video he did, which his publicist confirms was done as a “parting gift” to his fans:

David Bowie will be sorely missed by many of us. It will be a long time before I can listen to his music again without getting upset and overly-emotional. I have no doubt many of you feel the same way. We will all mourn together.

Leave a Reply

